Die Art ‎– Gold LP (Semaphore / Zong)

In den Korb
  • Beschreibung

German band, founded 1984 as Die Zucht in Leipzig, German Democratic Republic (GDR/DDR). In 1985 they changed their name to Die Art because the government objected against further use of their original name. (Die Zucht = "the breed" in English)
The 1985 Die Art-concert in Haus Auensee Leipzig - together with Billy Bragg & The Neurotics - was legendary.
Literally "behind the Iron Curtain", Die Art privately produced three regular cassette tapes in underground conditions and quality. Since these communist times allowed only an inofficial underhand merchandising during live concerts it was the unique way to "distribute" these tapes - despite the fact, that this activity was - according to the communist GDR-laws - an illegal act.
John Peel played Die Art in his BBC Radio-Show in 1989 for the first time - related to the successful radio debut in the popular GDR underground radio-show "Parocktikum" (at Radiostation DT64) by Lutz Schramm.
The collapse of the Berlin Wall ushered in a new era, and their dream of releasing their official first album in band history finally became true. Due to the fact that it was their 4th regular recording, their first album was entitled FEAR ("fear" and the German word "vier" (the number 4) pronounce the same way in English), which may be regarded as a sort of Best-Of compilation from their first three tapes.
Between 1990 and 2001 they released nine albums in total, and various EPs and singles.
In 2001, after two final sold-out concerts at the Moritzbastei in Leipzig, Die Art eventually disbanded. (These two concerts were later released on CD under the title "Last Live Sequences".)
Out of the ashes of "Die Art", a new band was born: Wissmut, with a band line-up identical to Die Art in their final phase.
In the year 2007 they finally decided to reform Die Art. Three new albums were released since.

Christoph Heinemann (1984 - 1999)
Dirk Scholz (1989 - 1991)
Andre Friedrich (1984-11/1985)
Andy Seyffert (1986 - 1988)
Thomas Gumprecht (since 11/1985)
Thomas Stephan (1984 - 2001)
Holger Oley (since 1984)
Stefan Rebbelmund (1991 - 1992)
Christian Schierwagen (1999 - 2001)

Media Conditions: Media: Very Good + / Cover: Very Good +

Verwandte Produkte